A Somewhat Sudden Change of Direction

I just finished my last midterm this morning, and it feels so nice to be done! Only problem is, I’m feeling so good that I’m not sleepy, and it’s already 1:30pm! I have got to get to bed!

What??

Yep, that’s what’s going on today, but I guess, for it to make any sense, I should probably give a little bit of back story.

First, didn’t I graduate two years ago?
And second, why on earth should I be sleeping in the early afternoon?

Actually, I should answer the second one first and the first one… anyway.

I am currently working a noc shift at work (12 hour shifts, 3 days a week) which is perfect for me right now, because… I’m back in school!

I started an online program for people who already have a bachelors, to get a B.S. in Computer Science! It’s really great. I can do it at night when I’m at work, and the program is based out of OSU, in Corvallis. So now, I’m an OSU student. I never would have thought.

It’s a bit of a departure from my previous trajectory, but I really think it’s the right decision. There have been a couple clues along the way…

1. Like, a year ago, my mom said that I should maybe look in to taking some computer classes, and look into working in computers. I said that she should get a clue, as working in psychology was clearly my passion… Ooops!

2. When I took a single programming class in college (my very last class, actually), I got an effortless A+, an offer of an internship, and the suggestion that I go to grad school for cognitive modeling (which is a combination of psych and CS). He was stunned that I had never done any other programming. Huh!

3. I really like computers. I think they’re nice.

4. I actually got a really “good” job as a manager for a company that is… pretty similar to where I work now. It made me utterly miserable. I quit after a month. Clearly, I was not on the path to a career that I actually wanted, and needed to find something new!

So, now I am learning C++, and taking my first math-ish class in… a long time. I love it! I find it absolutely satisfying, and I am so excited to keep going and eventually work in this field.

Plus, it means that I have a new laptop, so I can once again type in comfort (and style…).

This was the very first program we wrote (slightly modified).

First Program

It’s kind of amazing looking at that and realizing how far I’ve come in 6 weeks…

This entry was posted in Computers!, Corvallis, The Future, The Past. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

